REVIEW : CETAPHIL DailyAdvance Ultra Hydrating Lotion 85 g

Hiya,

My very first post and I choose to speak about this. Yes, it’s that dear to me and I absolutely love it.

ooh oh.. did I kill the suspense for you? Oops sorry…

To share a small story on how and why I bought it.

Well, it was October 2016 and I had just moved to Sydney from Bangalore, India. The weather wasn’t too different and it was around 19-21 degrees but my skin wasn’t adjusting. I did have dry skin when in Bangalore and hence used cold pressed oils and I had tugged them along to Sydney when I moved here. But they didn’t seem to work. Yes, a heavy layer of oil on my face and it was strange to still see dry patches.

I needed a better option and that is when I bought this. In a different country with not much of my usual research to back up, I thought I could rely on the familiar brand of Cetaphil than the others and it’s been the best decision ever.

Ok. I’ll stop rambling and get down to the actual review.

The packaging is the standard tube packaging and no complaints on that front. However, the texture is not like a lotion as the name suggests. It is of a light cream consistency, not too dense or thick, but not too thin either. You can see the texture here.

img_7803

There isn’t a strong fragrance either, very mild and fades away once applied on the skin.

The first few times I applied this (remember I had extremely dry skin with patches), I used a large amount.. around the size of a 50 cent coin.. and within a few seconds my skin would soak in. I noticed a glow within a week of usage (yayy!!!!), though this is not what the product claims. I do not mean any glow due to brightening but you know the glow of a healthy moisturised skin? That’s exactly what I am talking about. And needless to say it became my go to moisturiser from then on. Yes, I did reduce the amount as I didn’t need the extreme hydration. But I would use it in the morning after a shower, at night after oils, anytime and every time.

Moving forward to a few months and we are now in the Aussie summer weather with temperatures running to 40 degrees on some days. You would think that this product would be too oily for the extreme humid temperatures. But no.. a pea size amount gives the perfect hydration needed without any oiliness. I still use it pretty much every morning below my sunscreen and light makeup and it works perfectly well. I think my makeup looks better with this than any other moisturiser that I own.

P.S. My hubby who has oily skin also loves it, though he uses a very unique way of applying. A tiny miniscule drop (in his huge palms!!), rubs it vigorously (by the time I feel it has all got absorbed in his palms) and then pats it on his face. Well, on second thoughts, I do not think his opinion now counts! Let it rest…

So coming to the end of this review, overall it is a fantastic product especially for normal to dry skin.

  1. It is budget friendly, the whole tube will easily last you for a good 6 months or more.
  2. It is dermatologically tested, non-comedogenic (won’t clog your pores… so no breakouts).

CBA opinion: if you have normal to dry skin, definitely give it a try and experiment with the quantity. If you have oily skin, sad but you should skip it. It would be better to go for a water based product like Neutrogena Hydro Boost or the Vichy Hydration range.

Come and tell me a hi if you liked my post in the comments below

Be gorgeous!

2 thoughts on “REVIEW : CETAPHIL DailyAdvance Ultra Hydrating Lotion 85 g

Leave a comment